15 Vet Camps for High School Students in 2026

TL;DR
You’ll find 15 vet camps here, mostly short programmes run by US veterinary colleges such as Purdue, Tufts, Georgia, and Ohio State, plus day camps and a credit-bearing Cornell course. The biggest difference is access, since some camps only accept students from one state or the US while others take applicants from anywhere. Most suit 9th to 12th graders, and costs range from free AgDiscovery day camps to $5,820 in tuition for Cornell’s course. Immerse Education’s Academic Insights pathway in Veterinary Studies runs for two weeks in Sydney for students aged 15 to 18 from around the world.
If you love animals and want to know what a veterinarian’s day actually involves, vet camps for high school students give you a close look long before you apply to vet school. Instead of reading about diagnostics and surgery in a textbook, you practise clinical skills, examine animals, and tour teaching hospitals with faculty and veterinary students. That kind of experience can help you decide whether veterinary medicine is one of the careers in biology that suits you.
Vet camps come in a few formats, from week-long residential camps at veterinary colleges to short day camps and credit-bearing university courses. Depending on the camp, you might bandage and suture, read X-rays, care for a shelter dog, or shadow clinicians on rounds.
What are vet camps for high school students?
Vet camps for high school students are short summer programmes, usually run by university veterinary colleges, that introduce you to veterinary medicine and veterinary school. Most last between one day and one week, combining lectures and labs with time around animals in campus clinics, farms, and hospitals.
Access varies more than you might expect. Some camps take students from across the US, while others are limited to one state, and a few set minimum ages, GPAs, or shadowing hours. Before you apply, check the grade range, residency rules, and whether housing is included. Costs range from free USDA-backed day camps to several thousand dollars for credit-bearing courses.
To help you compare your options, we’ve put together a list of 15 vet camps for high school students!
15 Vet Camps for High School Students in 2026
1. Immerse Education's Veterinary Studies Summer School

Location: University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia
Cost: Varies; summer school scholarship available through our bursary programme
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Selective; an average of 7 participants per class
Dates: 2 weeks during the summer
Application Deadline: Multiple cohorts with rolling admissions
Eligibility: Students aged 15-18; open to international students
Immerse Education's Academic Insights pathway in Veterinary Studies introduces you to the scientific and ethical foundations of veterinary medicine through university-style teaching and case-based learning. You explore topics such as animal physiology, disease diagnosis, treatment approaches, and animal welfare, guided by experienced tutors. The program uses seminars, group discussions, and real-world case studies to help you understand how veterinary professionals assess and treat different species.
You also develop analytical and communication skills through collaborative projects and guided assignments. The in-person experience takes place at the University of Sydney, with classes a short walk from your accommodation, giving you insight into university life while studying a specialized subject. By the end, you receive a certificate and personalized feedback, helping you evaluate your interest in pursuing veterinary science further.
Why it stands out: Offers a focused introduction to veterinary science in a university-style setting, combining subject-specific learning with a realistic preview of studying at a leading academic institution.
2. Auburn University Vet Camp

Location: Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, Auburn, AL
Cost/Stipend: $1,300 (2026), including on-campus housing, meals, materials, field-trip transport, and recreation
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; campers are chosen through random selection, and 100 high schoolers attended in 2026
Dates: Separate one-week camps by grade; in 2026, June 15th to 19th (rising 11th grade) and June 22nd to 26th (rising 9th and 10th grade)
Application Deadline: 2027 dates and deadlines will be posted in December
Eligibility: Rising 9th, 10th, and 11th graders | International eligibility not specified
Auburn’s College of Veterinary Medicine runs its Vet Camps with the university’s Office of Professional and Continuing Education, with separate weeks for different grades. You learn in classrooms, labs, and outdoor facilities that include Auburn’s raptor, equine, dairy, and beef units. Depending on your camp, sessions cover public health, food animals, wildlife, anatomy, imaging, first aid, and surgery prep skills.
You live in Auburn’s residence halls, eat in campus dining facilities, and have counselors supervising you around the clock. Evenings bring social and recreational activities, and mentoring sessions help you think about careers in veterinary science.
Why it stands out: You get grade-specific sessions with access to Auburn’s raptor, equine, and livestock facilities, plus a full taste of campus life.
3. Lumiere Research Scholar Program
Location: Remote, you can participate in this program from anywhere in the world!
Cost: Varies depending on program type. Full financial aid available.
Application Deadline: Varies by cohort.
Dates: Varies by cohort: summer, fall, winter, or spring. Options range from 12 weeks to 1 year.
Eligibility: You must be currently enrolled in high school and demonstrate a high level of academic achievement.
The Lumiere Research Scholar Program is a rigorous research program tailored for high school students. The program offers extensive 1-on-1 research opportunities for high school students across a broad range of subject areas. The program pairs high school students with Ph.D. mentors to work 1-on-1 on an independent research project. At the end of the 12-week program, you’ll have developed an independent research paper!
You can choose research topics from subjects such as veterinary medicine, psychology, physics, economics, data science, computer science, engineering, chemistry, international relations, and more. You can find more details about the application here, and check out students’ reviews of the program here and here.
Why it stands out: You get 1-1 mentorship with a Ph.D. mentor and produce an independent research project by the end.
4. Purdue University Senior Boiler Vet Camp

Two students wearing blue gowns and gloves and performing an experiment
Location: Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, West Lafayette, IN
Cost/Stipend: $1,600, all-inclusive; scholarships identified through the college’s partners
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; 50 students are accepted for the Senior Camp
Dates: Seven days; 2026 ran June 21st to 27th (2027 dates not yet posted)
Application Deadline: February 2nd, 2026 for the 2026 camp (2027 deadline not yet posted)
Eligibility: Students entering 10th, 11th, or 12th grade who haven’t attended Senior Camp before | International eligibility not specified
Purdue’s Senior Boiler Vet Camp is a seven-day, on-campus camp for students thinking about becoming veterinarians or veterinary nurses. The week centres on the wellness care of a shelter dog from a humane society, which you clean up and examine using the stethoscope every camper receives. The camp dogs also undergo spay or castration surgery during the week.
With your camper group, you tour the Purdue University Veterinary Hospital, including the David and Bonnie Brunner Veterinary Medical Hospital Complex. Each group works alongside a second- or third-year veterinary student counselor, and faculty members join discussions about what you’ve learned. To apply, you answer three short essay questions.
Why it stands out: You follow one shelter dog’s care through the week while learning from Purdue veterinary students and faculty.
5. Tufts University Adventures in Veterinary Medicine (AVM)
Location: Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University, Grafton, MA
Cost/Stipend: $1,800 for summer sessions, including lunch, snacks, lab fees, and supplies; need-based awards usually cover 20 to 40% of tuition
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; spaces are limited
Dates: One-week sessions in July, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday to Friday
Application Deadline: Applications open in early December for the following summer
Eligibility: Students currently in 9th to 12th grade | International eligibility not specified; commuter programme with no housing
Tufts’ Adventures in Veterinary Medicine High School programme spends one week introducing you to the veterinary profession and its many career paths. On Cummings School Farm, you learn proper animal handling and perform physical examinations, then practise bandaging, suturing, reading X-rays, and giving a dog a clinical exam. You also work as a team to solve a challenging medical case.
In the school’s Simulation Lab, you try techniques such as intubation and ultrasound. Sessions run as a commuter day programme, so you arrange your own transport and accommodation near the Grafton campus, about 45 to 60 minutes west of Boston. Applications need an online form, a transcript, and a short essay.
Why it stands out: You practise clinical techniques in a simulation lab and work with animals on a veterinary school farm.
Law

Business Management

6. Cornell University Precollege Veterinary Medicine Program
Location: Cornell University, Ithaca, NY (residential or commuter)
Cost/Stipend: $5,820 tuition for the 3-credit course (Fall 2025 to Summer 2026 rate), plus health and residential fees where they apply and a $75 application fee
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; rolling admissions, and most programmes fill before the deadline
Dates: Three weeks; 2026 ran June 22nd to July 10th (2027 dates not yet posted)
Application Deadline: For 2026, residential application forms were due May 5th and materials May 19th (2027 dates not yet posted)
Eligibility: High school sophomores, juniors, and seniors, based on Cornell’s description of the course | Open to international students, who need an F-1 visa for the residential programme
Through Cornell’s Precollege Studies programme, you can take VTBMS 1200: Veterinary Medicine: Science and Practice, a three-credit course taught through the College of Veterinary Medicine. Over three weeks, you learn anatomy and physiology, take part in labs, and practise skills alongside veterinary professionals. You can join as a residential or commuter student.
Completing the course earns you college credit and an official Cornell transcript. Admissions are rolling, so applying early helps, and you submit an application statement in English along with your fee.
Why it stands out: You earn three Cornell credits through a veterinary course taught by Cornell’s College of Veterinary Medicine.
7. UC Davis Vet Med Summer Academy
Location: UC Davis Weill School of Veterinary Medicine, Davis, CA
Cost/Stipend: Not specified on the programme page
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Not specified; advance online registration is required
Dates: One week in July
Application Deadline: Applications for summer 2027 open in mid-January
Eligibility: Students in grades 9 to 12; the age requirement is strictly enforced | International eligibility not specified
UC Davis’s Vet Med Summer Academy is a week-long programme, run through a partnership with EAOP, for high schoolers with a strong interest in veterinary science. You learn about veterinary medicine through clinical skills labs, activities, and facility tours at the Weill School of Veterinary Medicine. Registration happens online in advance, so it’s worth setting a reminder for January.
If you can’t make July, the school also runs a free Discover Veterinary Medicine event for 9th to 12th graders, with breakout sessions led by veterinary student clubs. Parents attend a separate session on career pathways, the cost of veterinary education, and financial planning.
Why it stands out: You get clinical skills practice at a school UC Davis describes as the top veterinary school in the US.
8. University of Florida Gator Vet Camp
Location: University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine, Gainesville, FL
Cost/Stipend: $1,200; limited need-based scholarships and application fee waivers for qualifying Florida students
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; the camp draws applicants from across Florida
Dates: One week; in 2026, June 7th to 12th (rising 10th and 11th grade) and June 21st to 26th (rising 12th grade) (2027 dates not yet posted)
Application Deadline: Not yet posted for 2027; the 2026 portal opened on January 5th
Eligibility: Florida rising 10th to 12th graders; Florida residents only | Not open to international students
Gator Vet Camp is a one-week residential programme that gives you academic exposure to veterinary medicine and a taste of college life at the University of Florida. You tour the College of Veterinary Medicine’s facilities and learn about lesser-known specialties such as wildlife, large animal, and fish medicine. The camp focuses on reaching first-generation and low-income students, as well as those with some animal experience but little exposure to veterinary medicine.
To apply, you need an endorsement form from a high school or college-level math, science, research, or computer science teacher or mentor. Florida students who qualify can request an application fee waiver.
Why it stands out: You spend a week at UF’s College of Veterinary Medicine exploring specialties most high schoolers never see.
9. University of Georgia VetCAMP
Location: University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine, Athens, GA
Cost/Stipend: $1,200 for 2027 (up from $1,000 in 2026), covering lodging, meals, instruction, lab materials, and scrubs; financial assistance can be requested after acceptance
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; applications, video essays, transcripts, and recommendations are all reviewed
Dates: June 6th to 12th, 2027
Application Deadline: January 20th, 2027
Eligibility: 10th to 12th graders who are 16 by the camp start date, including graduating seniors | Applicants must be from the US, so not open to international students
UGA’s VetCAMP (Veterinary Career Aptitude and Mentoring Program) is an intensive week-long camp that UGA describes as the first pre-vet summer camp set up by a US veterinary school. Your week includes visits to the veterinary teaching hospital, diagnostic labs, and the Poultry Diagnostic and Research Center, plus a behind-the-scenes field trip. Activities are designed to help you assess your skills and competitiveness as a future vet.
You also learn what vet school involves, from admissions and classes to the range of career paths in the field. Your application includes a transcript, one teacher or counselor recommendation, and an unlisted YouTube video of up to three minutes answering three questions. During camp, you stay in UGA’s dorms with current veterinary student ambassadors.
Why it stands out: You test how competitive you’d be as a future vet while touring UGA’s teaching hospital and poultry research centre.
10. USDA AgDiscovery Program
Location: 10 partner universities in 2026, including Iowa State, Florida A&M, Prairie View A&M, and the University of Arizona
Cost/Stipend: Free
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; places are set by each host university
Dates: Five-day day camps in June and July 2026, such as July 13th to 17th at Iowa State (2027 dates not yet posted)
Application Deadline: Set by each host university; Florida A&M’s 2026 deadline was June 1st
Eligibility: Middle and high school students | International eligibility not specified
AgDiscovery is a USDA summer outreach programme, run with partner universities, that shows middle and high school students the career paths open in the agricultural sciences. In 2026, it switched to a five-day day camp format, so you return home at the end of each day. You apply directly to your chosen host university rather than to USDA.
Programmes vary by host, and Florida A&M’s 2026 session focused on animal-related careers, including veterinary medicine, through workshops, lab and field exercises, and field trips. Other 2026 hosts included Alcorn State, Delaware State, Fort Valley State, and the University of Arkansas Pine Bluff.
Why it stands out: You explore veterinary and agricultural careers at no cost through a USDA-backed programme.
11. Ohio State University Buckeye Vet Camp
Location: The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Columbus, OH
Cost/Stipend: $1,000, plus a $30 non-refundable application fee
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective
Dates: June 7th to 12th, 2026 (2027 dates not yet posted)
Application Deadline: April 10th, 2026 for the 2026 camp (2027 deadline not yet posted)
Eligibility: Rising high school sophomores, juniors, and seniors | International eligibility not specified
Ohio State’s Buckeye Vet Camp is a residential camp that helps you explore veterinary medicine and what life as a veterinary student is like. You take part in mock lectures, clinical skills sessions, team building exercises, and a community service project. The camp is hosted at the College of Veterinary Medicine in Columbus.
To be considered, you complete an application and pay the application fee. In 2026, applications closed on April 10th, and accepted campers heard back on April 20th.
Why it stands out: You preview life as an Ohio State veterinary student through mock lectures, clinical skills, and community service.
Join the Immerse Education 2027 Essay Competition
Follow the instructions to write and submit your best essay for a chance to be awarded a 100% scholarship.

12. Michigan State University 4-H Animal and Veterinary Science Camp
Location: Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
Cost/Stipend: $120 (2026), covering meals, transportation during camp, and materials; lodging not included
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Limited spots; Michigan youth register first
Dates: Two-day day camps; in 2026, July 6th to 7th or July 8th to 9
Application Deadline: Registration for 2026 opened on April 1st (2027 dates not yet posted)
Eligibility: Ages 13 to 17 as of January 1st; out-of-state students can join a waitlist | International eligibility not specified
The Michigan 4-H Animal and Veterinary Science Camp is a pre-college programme run by Michigan 4-H Youth Development, MSU’s Department of Animal Science, and MSU’s College of Veterinary Medicine. You explore careers in animal science and veterinary medicine, visit MSU farms and facilities, and take part in learning activities across the two days. The camp was shortened to a two-day format so more students can attend.
Michigan youth get first access, while out-of-state students are offered any remaining spots from the waitlist. If you’ve already attended, you can’t register again.
Why it stands out: You get an affordable, short introduction to animal and veterinary science on MSU’s campus.
13. University of Illinois Illini Summer Academies: Veterinary Medicine
Location: University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, with housing in Bousfield Hall
Cost/Stipend: Not specified on the programme page
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Not specified; over 180 students from 34 Illinois counties attended in 2026
Dates: Five days in June; 2026 ran June 21st to 25
Application Deadline: Registration for 2027 opens in February
Eligibility: High school students | International eligibility not specified
Illini Summer Academies is a five-day programme run by Illinois Extension 4-H on the University of Illinois campus, and veterinary medicine was one of the academy topics in 2026. You take part in labs, workshops, simulations, and field experiences with faculty, researchers, and current university students. Evenings have a camp-like feel, and you stay in a campus residence hall.
In past years, the veterinary medicine academy has covered anatomy, immunology, public health, and wildlife medicine, with activities like clinical equine rounds and owl pellet dissection. Academy offerings for 2027 will be posted in early January.
Why it stands out: You combine a veterinary medicine academy with a full week of residential college life at Illinois.
14. Kansas State University Vet Med ROCKS Summer Camp
Location: Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Manhattan, KS
Cost/Stipend: $125 registration fee; Kansas 4-H members could apply for reimbursement in 2026
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Not specified; 99 high school and college students attended in 2024
Dates: One-day camp; the 2026 high school day was July 27th
Application Deadline: Not specified
Eligibility: Students entering grades 9 to 12, plus college students | International eligibility not specified
Vet Med ROCKS is a series of summer day camps hosted by the Vet Med Recruitment and Outreach Club, a student organisation in K-State’s College of Veterinary Medicine. On the high school day, current veterinary students, faculty, and staff lead activities on animal care, veterinary procedures, and career pathways. The camp aims to show you what veterinary medicine and surgery involve inside a working veterinary college.
At $125 for the day, it’s a low-cost way to see whether you’d enjoy a longer camp later. Separate days serve middle and elementary school students, so younger siblings can join too.
Why it stands out: You get a short, low-cost introduction to veterinary medicine led by K-State veterinary students.
15. University of Missouri Advanced Veterinary Academy
Location: University of Missouri College of Veterinary Medicine, Columbia, MO
Cost/Stipend: $400
Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; 17 students took part in 2025
Dates: Four-day academy; 2026 ran June 8th to 12th (2027 dates not yet posted)
Application Deadline: March 31st, 2026 for the 2026 academy (2027 deadline not yet posted)
Eligibility: High school juniors and seniors aged 16 to 18 with at least 50 hours of veterinary shadowing, a minimum 2.7 GPA, an essay, and two recommendations | International eligibility not specified
Mizzou’s Advanced Veterinary Academy is a four-day programme that simulates life as a veterinary student, both in the classroom and on clinical rotations. You sit in on a lecture with first- or second-year veterinary students, dissect an animal in anatomy, review radiographs, and shadow students and clinicians on small animal rounds. Sessions also cover clinical pathology, comparative medicine, food animal medicine, public health, and toxicology.
You can scrub in on a surgery alongside clinical students to observe procedures, and an admissions session covers interview etiquette and ACT and GRE test tips. Entry requirements are higher than at most camps, so start logging shadowing hours early.
Why it stands out: You experience lectures, rounds, and surgery observation the way current Mizzou veterinary students do.
Frequently asked questions: Vet Camps for High School Students
What should you do in high school if you want to be a vet?
Take a full course load that prepares you for a demanding college curriculum, especially in the sciences. Cornell’s College of Veterinary Medicine advises high schoolers to take courses at the highest level their school offers. Animal experience matters too, and some camps ask for it upfront: Mizzou’s Advanced Veterinary Academy requires at least 50 hours shadowing a veterinarian. You can also build lab skills through biology research opportunities for high school students.
Do you need to be 16 to go to vet camp?
Not always, but several of the more advanced camps set 16 as the minimum age. UGA’s VetCAMP requires you to be 16 and in 10th to 12th grade by the first day, and Mizzou’s academy also starts at 16. If you’re younger, Auburn runs a camp for rising 9th and 10th graders, Tufts accepts current 9th graders, and Michigan State’s 4-H camp welcomes students from age 13. Check each camp’s cutoff date, since some calculate age on a specific day.
Are there free vet camps for high school students?
Yes, though free options are rare, and most university vet camps on this list charge between $400 and $1,800. USDA’s AgDiscovery ran free five-day day camps at 10 partner universities in 2026, including Iowa State and Florida A&M. UC Davis also hosts a free Discover Veterinary Medicine event for 9th to 12th graders. Low-cost choices include Michigan State’s 4-H camp at $120 and K-State’s Vet Med ROCKS at $125, while Tufts, UF, and UGA offer need-based aid.
When should you apply for vet camps?
Start looking in late autumn or early winter, since many deadlines fall between January and April. UGA’s VetCAMP closes applications on January 20th, 2027, and Purdue’s 2026 deadline was February 2nd. Auburn posts new dates each December, and Tufts opens applications in early December. Later deadlines included Mizzou’s March 31st and Ohio State’s April 10th for 2026, so set reminders as soon as applications open.
Can international students attend vet camps for high school students?
Some can, but many US vet camps limit who can apply. UGA’s VetCAMP only accepts applicants from the United States, Gator Vet Camp is open to Florida residents only, and Michigan State gives Michigan youth first access. Cornell’s pre-college course accepts international students, who need an F-1 visa for the residential programme. Immerse Education’s Academic Insights pathway in Veterinary Studies in Sydney welcomes students aged 15 to 18 from around the world, and you can compare more veterinary studies programs in Australia.
Do vet camps help you get into vet school?
They won’t guarantee you a place, but they can help you decide whether veterinary medicine suits you and build skills that matter later. Mizzou’s academy includes an admissions session with interview, ACT, and GRE preparation, while UGA’s VetCAMP walks you through vet school admissions and classes. Cornell’s course gives you three college credits and a Cornell transcript. For more admissions-focused options, browse these pre-vet summer programs for high school students.
Find the vet camp that fits you
Spending a week examining shelter dogs, scrubbing into surgeries, or touring teaching hospitals shows you what veterinary work involves beyond simply loving animals.
The best vet camps for high school students match your grade, budget, and location, so check residency rules before you fall for one program.
Mark deadlines in your calendar early, since several popular camps close applications in January or February and offer only a limited number of places.
To keep exploring veterinary medicine and other paths working with animals, browse our Career Exploration blogs for guides on careers, skills, and next steps.

Unlock Inspiring Opportunities with the Immerse Education Newsletter
Join our newsletter to stay ahead with exclusive updates, exciting programme highlights, and expert insights from the world of immersive education.
Learn how Immerse can transform your life
An in-depth overview of our university and career preparation programmes
Get a glimpse into the life of an Immerse participant
Find the right programme for you with sample timetables, location showcases, and more





