Home » University » Cambridge City: University, Attractions & More

How Many Colleges Are in Cambridge: The Complete Guide


The university town of Cambridge is the home of two different universities, the University of Cambridge (which is one of the oldest and highest-ranking universities in the world) and Anglia Ruskin University (one of the most populous universities in England, with approximately 40000 students).

Brief History Of Cambridge University Colleges

The Uni of Cambridge comprises various institutions, including 31 semi-autonomous colleges, around 150 academic departments and other institutions organised into six schools. 

All 31 colleges are considered self-governing (with endowments and property), as they have their own internal structures and activities and control their memberships.  

All of the University of Cambridge colleges were founded between the 13th and 20th centuries, but none were established between 1596 and 1800. These are the same colleges that students in high school studying at cambridge summer school stay at!

This allows the colleges to be classified into two groups following their foundation date. There are 16 old colleges established between 1284 and 1596, and 15 new colleges established between 1800 and 1977. 

All students and the vast majority of academics are attached to a specific college within the university. 

List of Cambridge University Colleges

The University of Cambridge colleges include: 

  • Christ’s College
  • Churchill College
  • Clare College
  • Clare Hall
  • Corpus Christi College
  • Darwin College
  • Downing College
  • Emmanuel College
  • Fitzwilliam College
  • Girton College
  • Gonville and Caius College
  • Homerton College
  • Hughes Hall
  • Jesus College
  • King’s College
  • Lucy Cavendish College
  • Magdalene College
  • Murray Edwards College
  • Newnham College
  • Pembroke College
  • Peterhouse
  • Queens’ College (learn about the mathematical bridge)
  • Robinson College
  • Selwyn College
  • Sidney Sussex College
  • St Catharine’s College
  • St Edmund’s College
  • St John’s College
  • Trinity College
  • Trinity Hall
  • Wolfson College. 

The University of Cambridge has around 18000 students and approximately 11000 staff members. 

The University can be viewed as a confederation of colleges, faculties, departments and schools, and each college is conducted by its own regulations and statutes. 

The students are all members of the University (and of a specific academic department), but they are also a part of a college community, which is an arrangement that allows academic support for each student. 

Related Read: What Is Punting In Cambridge?

The students spend their time in one of the prestigious and beautiful colleges of Cambridge University, while undergraduates have College supervisions, which is teaching sessions in tiny groups. This is one of the main factors of their superior teaching methods.

Each college has its own in-house procedures, which involve selecting its students, most of whom admit undergraduate and postgraduate students. 

And, if you’re wondering how many colleges are in Oxford we covered that too.

Cambridge University Faculties & Schools

As we previously mentioned, there are six schools, and they are separate administrative groupings of faculties. The six schools include: 

  • Arts and Humanities
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Clinical Medicine
  • Biological Sciences
  • Technology
  • Physical Sciences.

Each school has its own Council, which includes representatives of both its departments and faculties. These representatives constitute the General Board. 

The University organises teaching and research into individual subjects or groupings of subjects, and their work is generally arranged into divisions called Departments.

Does Anglia Ruskin University Have Any Colleges?

No, Anglia Ruskin University does not have any colleges.

Located in the centre of Cambridge, the campus of Anglia Ruskin University has been an integral part of Cambridge since 1858.

Originally known as the Cambridge School of Art, the school gradually grew and became Anglia Ruskin University. 

The Anglia Ruskin University envelopes several facilities, including:

  • The Business School
  • Forensic Science Labs
  • TV Studio
  • New Science Center (with molecular biology/psychology laboratories)
  • University Library (with an open-access computer section)
  • Ruskin Gallery
  • Mumford Theatre 
  • Compass House (with audio recording studios and sport science labs)

The Anglia Ruskin University has invested over 100 million pounds in its new facilities in the last several years and plans to invest an additional 91 million pounds over the next five years. 


Subscribe to the Immerse Education newsletter for £100 off your programme*

We’ll send you our company updates and latest news. Subscribe for free by completing the form below.

*Not in conjunction with any other offers

Newsletter Signup